PICRUSt Greengenes reference OTUs files

Hello,

I am attempting to annotate my 16S community using GreenGenes instead of SILVA in order to run my data through the PICRUSt tool. I noticed this tool states that the community must be annotate/aligned using the Greengenes reference OTUs (18May2012 version).
I have been searching around the web and I am unable to find a greengenes file from the specified date/version. The closest dates to the one specified I have found is a file from May 2013 and one from August 2012. Other than these no other date is close.

I was wondering if anybody could possibly share a greengenes file from May 2012, or is there a typo in the PICRUSt description which should say 2013 instead of 2012?

Best wishes, Ryan

Hello,thanks for posing this question.

We have update our tool. Now you can use the 2013 version for annotation.

Best.

1 Like

Hello,
I’ve been using Microbiomanalyst for the past 4 years for several analyses and the recent update on PICRUST seems to not work on my samples anymore.
I’m attaching a screenshot of the error. Please let me know what would be the problem.

Thanks,
Helga Jenifer

1 Like

Hi,

@Yao that’s great thanks for confirming that. Unfortunately like @Helga_jenifer I am having the same issue with PICRUSt and I am getting the same error message regarding the taxonomy labels.

Any help would be fantastic, thanks for your help so far already, Ryan

Hi all, thanks for posing the question.

Would you please provide the related files follow our post guideline for further trouble shooting?

1 Like

1 - Which tool and which module
PICRUSt using the May 2013 reference database, on the marker data profiling tool

2 - Provide a copy of your data, or indicate which example data you used
attached below is the metadata file, taxonomy file and shared file output from the Mothur pipeline I have used for annotation/alignment.